biofreak659: (Default)
It's been a while! Whoops! Here's the fanfic I wrote since I last posted:

Read more... )

I think that's everything. Phew. I should post more often so I don't have to dump thirty fics at once lol. I've been sorting through all my old FF.net subscriptions and I managed to fall back in pretty hard with Harry Potter. Expect fanart and fic soon. Ooh! Art! I got a decent tablet, so I've been drawing lately. Mostly Morrowind stuff, but I want to do a Castlevania fan comic and some redesigns of characters for HP.

Hopefully I post a few more times before the year is out.
biofreak659: (castlevania)
I made a silly randomized castlevania prompt generator. Give it a whirl!

I also wrote some broody fanfic about Alucard and Drac and inherited monstrosity and all that. Read on AO3 or find it under the cut.

In the wake of this ship of fools )




biofreak659: (castlevania)
Guess who forgot she had a DW again, as usual?

Anyways, I really should have posted my Castlevania fic bingo here! I know there's a fic comm on DW. Disappointing, but I suppose I can always run it again. If anyone wants to play, here's the card:


bingo card



biofreak659: (Default)
My family and I recently went to the Maryland Renassiance Festival, and I made costumes for us all (plus a buddy from work). Fabric shipped late (they said everything was in stock but it was really backordered, grrr), and also I'm a horrible procrastinator, but everything was finished in time.

As I am deeply foolish, and love to sew when I don't have a time crunch, I've got a bunch of things I want to make. I'm doing a cosplay group at Katsucon 2022, so I need to work on that. I've got all my fabric, I just need to sit down and sew.

I also have a bunch of stuff I want to make for renn faire next year. Super fun stuff.

I double Galaxycon will be happening in 2022, but my mom wants a T'pau costume. I managed to find some other cosplays, and some behind the scenes stuff, but there isn't much out there.

Scifi! That reminds me that I need to finally get around to finishing my Flame Handmaiden costume . It's about 75% done; I just need to actually finish it!



Dusty outside of the jousting arena

biofreak659: (castlevania)
I've been getting back into Castlevania recently (not that I've ever really not been into it, but my primary interest ebb and flow. It's interesting, and I think it's on like a 7 year loop—something like: transformers, high fantasy, RPGs, Metal Gear, Castlevania. In a vague sort of order, I'm expecting the next one to be metal gear again. Anyways)

I rewatched (relistened?) to the truly awful audio drama (feat. what I can only assume is Maria's doppleänger, beaten with the bad writing stick and obsessed with cooking for Alucard). It's pretty much entirely awful, but it does feature Lyudmil, Alucard's former servant and now a vampire by your usual tragic attempt to save a life gone wrong.

It's... very poorly thought out and has plot holes so big you could cram Dracula's castle through them.
Some examples:

Timelines: how much time elapsed between Lisa dying and Trevor being sent after Dracula by the church? The details of Castlevania's timeline have never made much sense to me (when was Alucard born? Is Dracula supposed to be Vlad 3, like he is in the earlier games? If so, how did he find the time to summon a castle and become a vampire while he was fighting the ottomans? Does he teach time management classes, and how can I sign up for them?).

Hi welcome to parenthetical hell.

Anyways, the timeline for this game really doesn't add up, especially now that we know there was enough downtime between Lisa's death and Alucard taking a nap in his coffin for him to go and make flower crowns with his dear servant.

Powers and lack thereof: we know from sotn that Alucard is susceptible to hallucinations and vague mind alteration by succubi, but a huge plot point hinges on Magnus (slutty incubus in a crop top), influencing Alucard to be more... vampirey. I think it's implied that Magnus either goaded or controlled Alucard to bite Lyudmil (or it could have just been a vision it's very unclear), and then may or may not have then also controlled him to go and hunt a handful of village girls in a vampiric midlife crisis.

Or this could have simply been a case of him being possessive (like his father before him) and not wanting his only friend to die, then being unable to handle the consequences of his actions and going on a downward spiral resulting in murder, eventually culminating on him locking himself away to keep from becoming more evil.

This is how I choose to interpret it because I'm very good at ignoring parts of canon I don't like.

Maria: oof is she poorly written. It legitimately feels like this is a different person than calm and professional Maria from sotn, or even bubbly and determined Maria from rondo. You could grab any stereotypical sweet classmate from a shitty harem anime and swap their places and nothing would change. I've never read the relationship between Maria and Alucard as romantic (even playing the game as a child I assumed her going after him was because she wanted to be his friend), and currently choose to interpret it as a combination of deep friendship, and also... Okay, if you were a vampire hunter, you'd want to keep track of the vampires you'd met, even if you liked them. Obviously they're dear friends, but I also think there an undercurrent of "you'll kill me if I ever succumb to my darker side and become like my father".

Maria in the audio drama is a sighing housewife who just wants to please her dear husbando (they aren't married, just for clarification, nor are they in a relationship, he just lives at her house), and then gets depowered midway through and only shows up at the end of the drama to remind the audience that Konami does have the rights to the character and once she was absurdly powerful in a video game

Lyudmil: as I mentioned, this is Alucard's former devoted servant who died and is now an evil vampire. This could be a really complex and interesting character but that's a bit too much to expect from a Konami audio drama.

In a perfect world he be betrayed and lost. It's not clear if Alucard was overcome with bloodthirst, or if he just didn't want Lyudmil to die. Ah, this is another vague timeline part: So Lyudmil was banished from his village (presumably Lisa's village as well), because he tried to stop her execution. He failed, and then eventually offered to be Alucard's servant. Absolutely sick job BTW. Imagine going from being a Romanian dirt farmer to folding a prince's laundry in a castle full of delicious cakes.



Man is living the dream.

Anyway, at some point he returns to his home village (after offering to teach Alucard how to make flower crowns for the people you like) and injured to the point of death. It's unclear if he was lured there by Magnus or he just left. It's also unclear who injured him: the villagers (he was banished, remember), or Magnus himself, in a long con to turn Alucard into a blonde version of his father.

Alucard then bites him, with the aforementioned unclear motives.

Also, keep in mind that this might just be a hallucination and Magnus turned him into a vampire. This is not a good radio drama.

Ideally, Lyudmil would be a bit like Louis from Interview: resentful but still affectionate, willing to murder Alucard but also willing to, not forgive him, but make peace with what happened and move on from it. Lyudmil is very clearly affectionate towards Alucard, even romantic (although that may be the shipping goggles),but his feelings have been twisted by having been cursed with eternal life, bloodlust, vitamin D deficiency etc. Missed opportunity, but I also don't expect subtle writing from a Castlevania audio drama.

I really can't complain about the side characters. They're charming, I suppose, and I like the world building that being a vampire hunter is a profession and not some secret. Think (pardon the comparison), High Jackman vs Peter Cushing, in terms of Van Helsing.

Yeah, okay ramble is running out of steam. I wrote something, go read it: archiveofourown.org/works/31895983

Sunny day!

Jun. 26th, 2021 04:17 pm
biofreak659: (Default)
Time for doll pics! I haven't quite finished the blushing, but its good enough for now. I also found a wig and curled it, and removed his luscious eyelashes, as they were getting in the way. I might reattach them eventually, but I'm lazy, so.



Click for more photos! )

biofreak659: (Default)
What an overdramatic title. Still.

I find myself in that self pitying mire of loneliness again. It ebs and flows, but it always hits hardest after I've been around people for an extended period. Ex: I'll visit my family and have someone who no only listen to me, but has things to say unprompted. Going from that back to an empty house hits hard.

How does one make friends in their twenties? I feel like the majority of my friends are people from work (an amount) or college (2).

Anyways, I got on this train because I happened to notice the dates on an unrelated youtube upload, and got to wondering what exactly I was doing in 2014... only to find that I don't really remember. I can recall a lot of specific experiences from high school, despite being nearly a decade graduated (2013), but college, a scant 4 years ago? Some broadstrokes stuff. That time my roommate and I took the shopping shuttle to target and missed the bus back, and waited in starbucks. Other things. But I don't have the same bulk of memories that I do from high school.

Maybe its that I didn't do much in college, beyond studying alone in my room. I went to the library maybe twice in four years. I'm tangentially aware that I was probably suffering from depression or (more) anxiety during this time, which I'm aware can cause memory problems, but likely, there just wasn't as much to remember.

Unfortunately, its sort of the existence I'm living now. When I'm not at work (weird schedule, I work 12 hours days for 4 days, then have 4 days off), I can go that entire stretch without speaking to another person. Unhealthy, I know. I've been taking steps to solve it, but its against my nature, and its hard.

Whatever. I'll make some changes when the world opens back up.
biofreak659: (Default)
I finally got around to coating my big boy with MSC (I hate it! Also I work nights so I'm nocturnal and I don't like to be spraying noxious chemicals outside at 1am. Scares the neighbors, and me, because I'm nervous all the time, but I imagine me with a doll and my huge respirator is far scarier than anything else), and got around to starting his body blushing and face up.

Lots of pictures under the cut )

biofreak659: (Default)

I started this project back in March, probably? I watched the Untamed, and then read about half of MDZS before remembering that I really don't like reading stuff online (unless it's fanfiction—I find new fiction very difficult to read online, especially if it's trying to mimic the way a book works with page turns. I can read scrolling stuff just fine through: blame decades (two, actually) of fanfiction). So, I decided to print myself a bound copy.

Photos and rambling under the cut )




biofreak659: (Default)
 Wow do I need to use this more often

Profile

biofreak659: (Default)
biofreak659

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718 192021
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:28 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios